Kark has an energetic and warm personality; he brings that feeling to every shoot he participates in, and he’s looking forward to expanding his portfolio further and breaking into the fashion industry. Keep reading to learn more about Naftali Kark and to get a behind-the-scenes look at a hair model’s hair care routine:

5 Minutes with Naftali Kark: A Peek Into a Men’s Hair Care Routine

All Things Hair: Can you tell us a little about the history of your hair and how it’s changed over the years?

Naftali Kark: “Until I was about 14 years old, my dad used to cut my hair himself. He didn’t know how to do anything too intricate, so he would just take a number 3 or 4 [clipper guard] over the top of my hair. At about age 14, I went off to high school out of town and I started going to the barber for my haircuts. At that point, I just told the barber to do whatever he felt like doing as far as cutting and styling went. I ended up with a very thin pouf at the front of my hair. The next year I switched to short bangs, and then the following year I tried longer bangs. From there my style went from long thick bangs to a nice fade with beautiful full hair on top. As of now I consistently request a fade, but I change up how I comb the top every few months.”

In what ways does your hair play a role in your identity? How about your brand identity?

“Ever since I have started taking care of my hair, I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on it. It took me a while to find the perfect barber, but every barber I went to always told me that I had amazing hair. When I finally found the perfect barber she was the one who convinced me to go into hair modeling. I really feel that my hair is one of my best features and I consider my hair to be a huge part of my identity.”

Are there any men’s hair care tips you’ve learned from hair stylists on set?

“The best tip I ever got was from a barber in New York who told me that after I shower I should dry my hair until it is almost completely dry, then add in a small drop of leave-in conditioner. I realized when using the leave-in conditioner that it takes away the static, makes my hair really smooth and even thickens it a little bit.”

Walk me through your hair care routine on a day-to-day basis.

“Over the past few years I have had all different hair routines, but the hair routine I do now is by far the best and it was taught to me by my barber Jazmine Valtierra. After I get out of the shower at night, I dry my hair pretty much completely with a blow dryer, and that is when the real routine starts. I use a volumizing product to give my hair great volume, and then finish drying my hair until it’s completely dry. I then put in a shaping cream to give my hair some definition.”

“I really like the medium-hair length with tapered sides. It can be messy or neat, classic or modern and it can be worn up or worn down.”

What hairstyle/trend do you want to try next?

“I really like the way my hair is right now, but I’d like to switch it up soon and try adding a pencil beard. I absolutely love the look but I’m just not sure if I can pull it off!” Looking for more men’s hairstyle inspiration? Check out 10 cool men’s runway hairstyles to inspire your new look. 

5 Minutes with Naftali Kark  A Peek into a Men s Hair Model s Grooming Routine - 32